Top Baby Pattern Picks

My best friend just had a baby and my sister’s first baby is due in November. So, I’ve spent the last few weeks knitting baby sweaters. I don’t write knitting patterns for clothes, so I went through the Ravelry pattern database and found three delightful and free patterns. All the sweaters look cute and the patterns were well written, so I thought I’d share them with you.

babykimono

This Baby Kimono designed by Elizabeth Jarvis has a very clever sideways construction and was a quick and easy knit. I used Sirdar Snuggly baby DK. I have slight reservations about the length of the arms, so when I knit it again I’m going to make the arms shorter.

baby jacket

This next one is Ribbed Baby Jacket by Debbie Bliss and it’s definitely my favorite baby sweater pattern so far. It’s really easy and has only a little bit of sewing, the stockinette stitch part of the jacket is knitted all in one piece and then the ribbing is made by picking up stitches round the front edge and over the neck. It’s a very clean looking design too, I like how the stockinette stitch rolls in at the ends of the sleeves. I knitted the jacket in Patons Canadiana worsted, because the pattern calls for Aran yarn and this was a good substitution. I’m also glad that I finally get to use that big green button, it’s been in my stash for a long time.

sleevelessvest

And finally, an unfinished sleeveless vest from a pattern called Viggo by DROPS Design. It’s knitted in Fingering weight yarn and it has taken me a long time to get this far. I’m using Knit Picks Comfy Fingering, which is a beautifully soft cotton. This is going to be a really luxurious baby sweater.

At this point, I feel that my baby clothes knitting duty is done for a while. Especially as my Mum is a fast and accurate baby clothes knitter (or as my sister said “she’s knitting as though it would prevent the zombie apocalypse”). So, as soon as I’ve finished that sleeveless vest, I’ll be back to knitting toys. Now I come to think of it, my sister’s favorite animal is an orangutan…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

