Knitting a Plan for 2013

The holidays are officially over and it’s time to focus on my Natty Knits goals for 2013. Last year I jokingly promised world domination and I almost managed it too. This year I have a proper part time day job and I’m volunteering once a week at my son’s Kindergarten. My time is precious, so I’m hoping I can streamline, get organized and keep Natty Knits growing.

Here’s the plan…

Leave (some of) the social media behind.

No-one loves Twitter more than I do, it’s like all my favorite gossip magazines in one handy place. However, it’s also a huge time sink. At the last count I had 1,775 followers on Twitter, most of those followers are not even knitters. Over at the Natty Knits Facebook group there’s often a decent conversation going on, but on Twitter I only have time to post and run. So on January 7, 2013, the Natty Knits Twitter account will be deactivated. Similarly I’m going to turn my Pinterest account into a personal account, because knitters don’t need to know about my plans to redecorate the living room.

If you think you’ll miss me on Twitter or Pinterest please join us over at the Natty Knits Facebook group or take a look at the Natty Knits photostream on Flickr. You could also just subscribe to this blog, I promise I am more entertaining in over 140 characters.

The NattyKnitter blog

I am very proud of this little blog. I will continue to post once a week, although it will now be on Wednesdays. I’m also going to continue making Quick Free Patterns available straight from the blog. I have this idea for fingerless gloves…

Natty Knits Patterns

Every year I aim to self publish at least six new Natty Knits toy patterns. And in 2013 I aim to do that again, here’s a little photo clue as to what the first pattern of 2013 will be.

Image

I’ll also be publishing the Snake Maker pattern that was in Knit Now magazine last year and I have an idea for a new ebook of Tiny Dolls. Finally I will keep submitting patterns to magazines, I have my heart set on Knitty, that would be very cool.

Get Organized

I think this is probably on everyone’s New Year to do list. For Natty Knits this means label all the finished knitted items, so they’re ready to send out; catch up on the customer feedback on Etsy and rewrite the pattern descriptions on Ravelry, so knitters have more information.

Personal Knitting Goals

Knit more socks and make sure some of them are toe up socks.

And that’s my modest ambitions for the next 12 months. Stay tuned to the blog to see what happens next.

Happy New Year!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Knitting a Plan for 2013

  1. Just found you. Love your items, best of luck to you in 2013!

Leave a Reply

