Quick Free Knitting Pattern – Chunky Cable Scarf

Back in the Summer when it seemed I had all the time in the world, I thought I would make my Etsy shop look more festive this Winter by giving all the little creatures and creations a scarf or a hat to wear. I got as far as making one cabled scarf for a robot. Obviously there were too many other things going on and I ran out of time, but I also got very interested in the little cable pattern I’d improvised on the scarf and decided to make it into a big scarf as well. The big scarf turned out very well, so I’m sharing the pattern with you.

This is a super easy cable pattern and a great way to learn about the cable notation.

Materials

Approx 2 balls of Bulky weight yarn

US size  10 1/2 (6.5 mm) needle

Cable Needle

Gauge

4 sts and 6 rows = 1″ in garter stitch

Size

Approx 4″ wide

To Knit Scarf

CO 18 sts

Row 1: K
Row 2: K8, P2, K8
Row 3: K7, C2R, C2L, K7
Row 4: K7, P1, K2, P1, K7
Row 5: K6, C2R, K2, C2L, K6
Row 6: K6, P1, K4, P1, K6
Row 7:  K5, C2R, K4, C2L, K5
Row 8: K5, P1, K6, P1, K5
Row 9: K
Row 10: K5, P1, K6, P1, K5
Row 11: K5, C2L, K4, C2R, K5
Row 12: K6, P1, K4, P1, K6
Row 13: K6, C2L, K2, C2R, K6
Row 14: K7, P1, K2, P1, K7
Row 15: K7, C2L, C2R, K7
Row 16: K8, P2, K8

Repeat as required

BO

Abbreviations

BO – Bind Off

C2R – Cross 2 Right. Slip 1 stitch onto a cable needle and hold it at the back of the work. Knit the next stitch, then knit the stitch from the cable needle.

C2L – Cross 2 Left. Slip 1 stitch onto a cable needle and hold it at the front of the work. Knit the next stitch, then knit the stitch from the cable needle.

CO – Cast On

K – Knit

P – Purl

St(s) – Stitches

4 Comments

Filed under Quick Free Knitting Patterns

4 responses to “Quick Free Knitting Pattern – Chunky Cable Scarf

  1. Hi Clare,
    Are we able to download the free scarf pattern?
    I am knitting your Hedge hog family. I have knitted up to end of section 3 as one piece of work. Should the sections 1 – 4 have been knitted as indiidual sections? If it’s one piece, when I reach the end of section 3 I carry on with that same piece and knit the rows 1 – 14 again ?
    Sorry; I am just doubting myself now and don’t want to have to undo too much.
    Thanks for the patterns.
    Regards,
    Meryl duffield2telkomsa.net

  2. Pingback: Free Crochet Patterns, Free Knitting Patterns, Video Tutorials and Giveaways from StitchAndUnwind.com

  3. Hi Clare,
    this is a really nice pattern as always, thank you!

    Tara.

Leave a Reply

