Knitted Holiday Decor

It’s that time of year when we knitters are finishing up our holiday gifts and looking around for some little festive projects. I’ve been collecting a few free patterns by other designers to try out for my tree and I thought I’d share them with you.

This Small Star Cushion by Annette Maas is a quick and clever knit. I would knit it in a yarn with some sparkle in it, like Vanna’s Glamour or a white mohair mix yarn which would give it a halo. There’s also a larger size star, which would make a great dramatic statement above a holiday fireplace.

Toadstools are a popular and fashionable addition to any Christmas tree, these Knitted ‘Shrooms by Abby Kroken are knitted all in one piece, no sewing required. It would be easy to change the cap to red and embroider some white spots.

Little Cotton Rabbits is one of my favorite knitted toy designers and these adorable little Bear Christmas Tree Decorations look quite easy too. They’re knitted flat and would be a good use of yarn oddments.

Of course you could also use a sock weight yarn and 2mm needles to make tiny round tree ornaments using the 10 Stripe Baby Ball pattern just to the right of this post. Or there is a 3 pattern deal for holiday decorations in the Natty Knits Etsy shop.

Please note that these patterns were all designed by talented folks other than me and although the patterns are highly rated on Ravelry, I haven’t tried them myself yet.  Just 7 weeks to Christmas day? I’d better cast on…


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

