Rose Rib Socks

Regular readers of this blog will know that I am slowly knitting my way through the book Sock Knitting Masterclass by Ann Budd . Last week I finished knitting the fourth pair of socks to come from that book; Rose Ribs by Evelyn A. Clark.

I love the lacy and geometrical scalloped border on the top of the socks. It doesn’t seem very elastic though, so much as I’d love to knit a whole sock in that pattern I will have to seek out other chevron ribbed lace patterns, does anyone have any suggestions?

The main lace pattern is easy to remember, half way through the first sock I stopped checking the pattern every time I started a round. This may be because I understand lace better, or it may be because the directions are written out in full, line by line, rather than in a chart. Only time and future lace knitting experiments will say which is true. The pattern itself is a little frilly for my tastes, but if I’m learning from knitting it, I’m not sure I mind how it looks!

The Rose Rib socks are knitted in Kertzer On Your Toes 4ply sock yarn, which is being discontinued, so you may find some on sale. It is a lovely yarn to knit with and it washes well. However, I was a bit disappointed that there was a break in the yarn, quite early in the ball. I am not a fan of random knots in my socks.

Overall, I am very pleased with these socks and even more pleased that there are still lots of other sock patterns in the book for me to try.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

