New Year, New Ideas

Happy New Year knitters!

I spent the holidays lazily knitting a pair of socks and finalizing a plan of sorts for 2012. Here’s that sort of plan:

More Free Patterns

That got your attention, didn’t it?

I often have ideas for stitch patterns or small items that don’t really need a whole pattern. Rather than saving them up, I think it’s time I started sharing them with you. They’ll be free on this blog, like this Quick Lace Cowl.

There will also be some new free PDF download patterns later in the year. Just like the ones on the sidebar to the right of this post.

Woodland Creatures

We’ve been Around the Barnyard and now it’s time to go into the woods. I’m working on a series of patterns for toy woodland creatures, mouse, hedgehog, squirrel and fox are all on my list. Big Crow will be the first new Natty Knits pattern of 2012, he could certainly join the woodland  team. The crow (pictured above) was created as a custom order just before Christmas, it also inspired me to make a large version of the popular Owl pattern, that will be finished in the Spring.

Secret Submissions

I have never submitted any of my patterns to any magazines, I’ve never done that because magazines require that the submission is something that has never been published anywhere ever before, including just as a photo on a blog or a thought on Twitter. As you can imagine, keeping something that quiet is going to be a huge challenge for me. I’d like to try it though. Of course, if it has to be a secret, how will you know I’ve done it?

Socks

Don’t worry, I’m not going to suddenly become all grown up and start designing socks. I am going to increase my technical knowledge by knitting some though. There are lots of different ways to shape socks and I’d like to add those shapes to my design repertoire. Also, it’s nice to knit something for me that only takes a week or two out of my design time. I’m going to start with the book Sock Knitting Masterclass and see where it takes me. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Disclaimer

I might manage to do all of this, I might not. 2012 is also the year my little boy starts kindergarden and the year of a long trip home to the UK.

So this is a plan of sorts, a sort of plan. Let’s see how it goes.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Year, New Ideas

  1. I saw your hug monster in the Knit Pick catalog! I love seeing your patterns evolve – even tho I don’t have kids to knit them for. Maybe I will try one this year!

Leave a Reply

