A Knitter Wishlist

This year I’ve been making wishlists and using the Etsy treasuries to get my point across. But then I realized that there are plenty of knitting supplies I’d like that aren’t even on Etsy. So it’s time to make another list, just in case.

Let’s start with yarn. Now, I am not a yarn snob, I’ll knit with acrylic, with something shiny, with superwash, with angora mix, with just about anything. But sometimes you need a little bit of luxury. I’ve been coveting this yarn for a while. It’s Holyhock Farm Alpaca in a worsted weight, it’s quite unusual to find a worsted weight alpaca yarn and even more unusual to be able to buy it straight from the Alpaca farmers. The farm is in Becker ,Minnesota and although the Alpacas who produced this yarn have passed away now, there are great stories about the younger Alpacas on Teresa’s blog. I am vaguely plotting a series of woodland creature patterns and some luxury owls, I think this yarn will be perfect for them.

Whilst we’re on the subject of yarn, I need more practice yarn. When I start a new design project, I often knit it in practice yarn first, the yarn needs to be resilient, inexpensive and a light, neutral color. This huge skein of Knit Picks undyed Swish DK would be just right for that.

I plan to master some new knitting techniques in 2012 and as I’ve never knitted a pair of socks, I thought this would be a good place to start. Heel turns come in many shapes and sizes and it seems Sock Knitting Masterclass by Ann Bud explores a lot of them. I like that the book has so many great designers as contributors. I’m also really intrigued by Brioche knitting, I’ve read a lot about it recently and the Knitting Brioche Essential Guide to the Brioche Stitch by Nancy Marchant looks very interesting.

If Santa is still looking for stocking stuffers, he could always aid me in my quest to go all bamboo. I love bamboo needles, but I don’t have many pairs of straight needles, in fact I often knit up smaller creations using dpns. A top tip I’ve recently discovered for sourcing these needles is to keep your eye on the Joann‘s coupons. They often have coupons for % off non-sale items and that usually includes the bamboo needles.

It’s actually not a very long list you know. I’m sure Santa could fit all of this down the chimney.

What does your knitters wishlist look like?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Knitter Wishlist

  1. Thanks for the wonderful compliments on my yarn. I will leave it by the milk and cookies so Santa will be able to find it! A little luxury is good for the soul! Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

