In the Hood of the Hood

This huge pile of knitting is the reason I’ve not been blogging this month. It’s a hooded cardigan, more like a jacket really and it’s turning out to be a huge project.

Yesterday evening I finally picked up the stitches across the back of the neck to make the hood. The last section. I am very pleased to be almost finished.

Pleased and nervous.

Knitting clothes is a perilous business for me. I know many knitters with the vision and tailoring skills to always produce something wearable and often produce something stunning. I am not so skilled in that area. So as I knit the last 15″ or so, I find myself stopping to measure the jacket against myself, because I’m worried that it’s too long. I’ve also stopped to practice seam sewing, because I’m worried that my sewing skills might not be up to the job. And that’s without getting on to the question of “does my bum look big in this?”.

And so with my heart in my mouth I venture on to the last stage of this epic knitting journey. To do what must be done. To finish this cardigan.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “In the Hood of the Hood

  1. Maggie

    Good luck – it looks fab! I am waiting with bated breath to see the finished article! After seeing your blog I tracked down a copy of the pattern because I loved the style so much 🙂 But it would be my first serious project as a knitter, so I’m a bit nervous about buying sooooo much yarn to test my limited skills :S

  2. I’ve never been good at getting knitted things to fit properly either. But, I too, have begun an undertaking that may be over my head. I’m spinning yarn to knit a shrug/ topper for myself.
    Can’t wait to see your finished project. It is looking good so far!

Leave a Reply

