Left Leaning Decrease Redux

EDITED TO ADD: A few weeks after writing this post, I used this method whilst knitting and discovered that this is not a left leaning decrease. This is actually a disguised right leaning decrease, so this is nothing more than a convoluted way to do a K2tog. I had my suspicions about it at the time. I’ve decided to leave the post on the blog though, because there’s a very helpful comment posted at the end. Meanwhile I’ll keep trying to get that perfect SSK.

 

Regular readers of this blog, will know that I have struggled with perfecting my left leaning decrease. I embarked on a two day quest to find the neatest method of producing an SSK. The original post is just here

Last night I was working on the shark which is knitted in the round and I realised that I needed to make a left leaning decrease. My heart sank, knowing that I couldn’t use my preferred cheat of purling two together on alternate rows. I was tired and I was making mistakes. One of those mistakes turned out to be gold dust.

The swatch pictured above was knitted with the following method:

1. Place the right needle through the 2 sts to be decreased as though to k2tog

2. Slip stitches off left needle and onto right needle

3. Insert left needle into the front of both sts from left to right and knit sts together through the back loop

And it works!

In fact it works better than the K2togs on the other side of the swatch. Of course I may have just re-invented the wheel or disguised a K2tog. If you know how or why this works, I’d love to hear from you.

EDITED TO ADD: A few weeks after writing this post, I used this method whilst knitting and it was not right. This is actually a disguised right leaning decrease, so this is nothing more than a convoluted way to do a K2tog. I had my suspicions about it at the time. I’ve decided to leave the post on the blog though, because there’s a very helpful comment posted at the end. Meanwhile I’ll keep trying to get that perfect SSK.

3 Comments

Filed under Knitting Technique

3 responses to “Left Leaning Decrease Redux

  1. Pingback: Round Duck – Hints and Tips |

  2. MeezieMom (on Ravelry)

    I’ve worked on this one, myself, doing a thorough study last summer. My answer was a bit different. I tried one of the suggestions made on nonaknits, where the decrease is worked as a variation of the “standard” SSK: slip 1st stitch as if to knit, slip 2nd stitch as if to purl. It is completed in the usual manner. The trick, as far as I see it, is that on the next row or round, that resulting stitch is worked THROUGH THE BACK LOOP. It works with a ktbl in the round and with a pthb back and forth in rows. It tightens up the decrease just enough. I stopped the variant part, when I did a little test that showed me no discernible difference between 2 times “slip knitwise” and one knitwise and one purlwise. All you need to do is **remember to work TBL on the next row/round. Try it and see!

    • nattyknitter

      That sounds really good, MeezieMom. I can imagine how that would work and next time I need an SSK I’ll try it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

