Fish Knitter

Sometimes an idea jumps from conception to completion so fast that it seems to knit itself.

On Saturday night I was working on a two seam cube (pattern currently being tested) when I realised that the flattened out cubes looked a bit like fish. It took just three hours to actually make my first fish and now my head is is full of possible variations and the ideas are coming quicker than I can knit.

This was the first fish. He is called Goldie and he’s currently living in a pocket as he was adopted by one of my son’s friends earlier today.

I’d like to try knitting fish that look like real fish, so maybe a zebra fish next. Does anyone have any favourite fish I should try to knit?


8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Fish Knitter

  1. tickleslordchaos

    The fishies are really cute! I would go with angel fish – they are distinctive. Maybe catfish as well? You could make the whiskers by dipping the yarn in wax to make it stiff and moldable. Just some ideas. 🙂

    • nattyknitter

      angel fish are definitely on my list and catfish. I didn’t realize that was how you stiffened yarn, nice tip.

      • tickleslordchaos

        Well, the wax is just one option. I know there are others, like dipping it in sugar water.

  2. Clown fish! Bet you already thought of them! How about the blue and yellow ones – I can’t remember the name, maybe paradise or something like that.
    Great idea!

  3. Lisa

    I LOVE Goldie! Any plans to share a pattern? Beta fish are kinda flowy cool… wonder how that would translate to yarn?

    • nattyknitter

      Thanks Lisa!

      I have plenty of plans to share patterns, just no time 🙂

      I’m planning to make the fish part of a big Mix and Match Fish pattern, different heads, bodies, fins and tails. I think I’ll be able to come up with enough variations so that you could knit 64 different kinds of fish by using the different combinations.

Leave a Reply

