The Quest for Cubes

PART I

Whilst I fumble away at sewing together the Godzilla pattern mentioned below I have also set myself a challenge. Can I knit a cube?

Of course you can knit a cube by knitting 6 different sides and then sewing them together, but as usual I’m thinking of something with a little less sewing and more clever shaping.

Cube  Attempt 1:

Cast On 38 sts

K 1 row*

K12, P1, K12, P1, K12

repeat from * until you have knitted 24 rows

Cast Off

Make two panels and fit together like so:

This was all very well, but the edges weren’t very sharp because of all that sewing, so I tried the same construction, just with a few refinements:

Cube Attempt 2:

Cast On 38 sts

P 1 row

*K12, P1, K12, P1, K12

K 1 row

Repeat from * another 11 times

P 1 row

Cast Off

Make two panels and fit together as diagram above

This was better, but a little bubbly, that’s the one in the photo at the top.

So tonight I’m going to try a different construction method. I’ll let you know how it works.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Quest for Cubes

  1. You are so CLEVER! Are you going to make them to match your alpaca balls? Stack the cubes and knock them over bowling style? Great idea.

    • nattyknitter

      Thanks Teresa, I don’t know if I’m clever or if I just see knitting in a different way to most people. I do love to knit around corners.

Leave a Reply

