Having a Rest-y from Etsy

I am bad at having a micro-business.

I am bad at pricing, I am bad at research, I am bad at promoting, marketing, networking, selling to a target market and understanding buyers.

There are lots of excuses I could wheel out as to why this is so, but I’m not going to. I’m just not good at it.

I am bad at having a micro-business.

My most recent sale made a loss because of the shipping and with the “trading hug monsters for poetry” deal still stinging a little, I feel I’ve hit a new low. So it’s time for a rest. The Natty Knits Etsy shop will still be there, but it won’t be getting much of my attention and certainly no more financial investment.

There are some things I am good at; knitting, designing little knitted toys and writing out the patterns so that everyone can make them. So I’ll still be making patterns, I’ll still be on Ravelry asking stupid questions in the forums and I’ll still be blogging about what I’m knitting and learning.

And on a lighter note…look how that cushion turned out (not blocked yet, but very pretty):

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Having a Rest-y from Etsy

  1. So the shop won’t receive as much attention – you’ll be happier and the sales, when they come (and we know they will) will bring you joy without stress. 🙂

  2. I hear you! I am taking a rest-y too!

    We are having a beautiful early spring. I would much rather be outside, keeping the barn and paddocks clean in anticipation of shearing the alpacas! And knitting and dyeing!

    Thanks for the reinforcement – I want to return to what I do best too!

    Is that over-stitching on the cushion? I like it!

  3. nattyknitter

    Thank you ladies!

    It’s not an easy decision to make.

    Oh and Teresa, it’s not over-stitching it’s actual fair isle style colourwork, I’m very pleased with it.

Leave a Reply

