Biasing

What is wrong with this knitting?

Well, it’s biasing, that means it’s leaning to the right. Look at one of the Vs, the left side is longer and stands out more than the right side.

Needless to say, not everything I knit in stockinette stitch comes out this way, for example this hat:

Although when I was looking for photos to put in that space, I discovered that I don’t have many bias free examples.

So I did some research, what makes sockinette stitch bias? Well there are a few theories, including:

  • the twist in the yarn, making single ply yarns more susceptible to biasing
  • uneven knit and purl stitch tensions
  • yarn being too large for the needles, making a cramped gauge
  • using the continental “throw over” knitting technique which is often very uneven

I’m currently working my way through these theories and I’m sad to say that even on larger circular needles and not using continental technique I’m still getting a pronounced bias with this particular yarn.

What am I missing? Are there any knitters out there who know the answer to this one?

Help!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Biasing

  1. Debbie

    Are you knitting in the round or areyou knitting flat? If you areknittung flat I believe it is the tension difference in your stitches, OR you are knittung TBL rather than TFL in you knit rows.

    Hope that helps.
    Debbie

  2. I don’t have the answer – but I would like to know it, too.

    In my case, I think it is ‘all of the above’! Hmmm, now you’ve got me thinking. I’ll have to pay better attention!

Leave a Reply

