Doing it for the Stories

Or, being paid in poetry.

Before I was someone’s Mum, I often used to do something  just so I could tell a story about it afterwards. Reckless things, strange things, silly things, things that most people would avoid doing because it wouldn’t make any sense to do them.

Last weekend I went to some friends’ wedding party at their pottery in Berkeley. One of my early prototype hug monsters is their mascot and it was getting some attention from the other party guests.

To cut a long story short, I somehow  managed to agree to knit two monsters for the grandchildren of a poet laureate, in exchange for his magnum opus. This is not good business practice, but it did make me feel good. Possibly because I finally have a “doing it for the story” moment for my knitting.

It has certainly led me to consider that I might not be cut out for the competitive world of crafting for cash. I’m still thinking about that one. In the meantime I’ve got two monsters to knit, they’ll be going to Stockholm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

