New Favourite Yarns

Whenever I visit my LYS (local yarn store) I find some beautiful yarns. However, most of the time I have to leave these treasures behind because I can’t afford them.

Just before Christmas I went in to the store looking for yarn to make hats for myself and Mr NattyKnitter. I found Araucania Nature Wool Chunky, which is a lovely kettle dyed pure wool and Malabrigo Yarn Chunky which is a super soft merino yarn in some very dramatic variegated colours. I had real fun knitting these into hats and my husband has even informed me that his new hat is not itchy, which is just about the highest compliment you can give to a yarn.

Of course, I bought too much yarn and as I was looking at the loveliness of the Araucania yesterday I had an idea forming in my head.

Knit Chicks.

I’ve always knitted these NattyKnits signature designs in washable baby yarn, the chicks are very popular with young children and it seemed right to use a synthetic yarn. But now I had some spare wool yarn and I wasn’t afraid to try it, so I knitted it, felted it and photographed it.

Now the woolly knit chick seen in the photo above just needs some eyes. This may be the beginning of a new line of Fancy Knit Chicks, natural fibres and felted with care.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “New Favourite Yarns

  1. Mmm, yummy yarn makes lovely chicks! That little chick looks so cuddly! I bet your fancy chicks are a big hit!

Leave a Reply

