I Am Not Dawn Bibby

snow1gift1tree2

Not that I have anything against the queen of UK paper crafting, I just don’t have her skills. Which leaves me in a bit of a pickle when it comes to my hand knitted holiday cards.

I’m pretty certain that proper card makers don’t have cards that look like this on the inside:

gift4

I thought it wouldn’t matter, in fact I even thought it could be an advantage to make the patch easy to remove. But the more I look at how ugly they are the more I realise that this is not professional enough for the NattyKnits brand (ok, that sounds weird, but I knew I could do better). So I’ve taken the cards out of the etsy shop whilst I come up with some solutions.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

1. Stick paper over the inside left hand flap of the card. It looks ok, but it does wrinkle a bit where the stitches were and because the paper is white you can still see the stitches.

2. Use thinner card and stick two cards together so that the offending stitches are sandwiched between two pieces of card. This looks really good, except that the card needs to be matched up perfectly and stuck down well. And of course, it doubles the price of the card stock.

3. Just sell the knitted patches as patches for the clever card makers and scrapbookers to work their magic with.

What do you think I should do? And do you have any crafty solutions that might help?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I Am Not Dawn Bibby

  1. Not sure if this will work – but it’s an idea you can think about.

    What if you sewed the patch on a piece of felt, or fabric or even a small complimentary colored piece of card stock or paper and glued that to the card. The patch is still re-useable – an idea I really loved. There is no stitches visible. The card is smooth on the inside – I think. The ‘texture’ is on the front of the card.

    That is my problem – way more ideas than time in a day!

  2. Donna

    I think Teresa is right…put something behind the adorable knitted patch then glue it to the card. You could even use a contrasting paper smaller than the card but bigger than the patch….like layering.

  3. nattyknitter

    Excellent idea! Unfortunately I was so excited by my solution that I’ve put it into practice with all 12 cards in my stock, in time for a craft fair on Saturday. I’ll blog about my solution some time next week.

    Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

