Toddler Reading List – All Sorts

Every Friday morning I read stories and sing songs to toddlers at Cover to Cover bookstore. We’ve had a few issues recently with getting hold of books, so instead of wasting a perfectly good theme, I thought I’d read some favourites:

I’m Not Cute by Jonathan Allen. Baby owl is in a terrible mood, he just wants to be on his own, but all the forest animals keep bothering him and telling him how cute he is. This is a toddler tantrum book, the message being that everyone has them and the answer is usually a good sleep.

Daft Bat by Jeanne Willis and Tony Ross. “Bat is Mad! Call the Doctor!” say the wild young animals. Actually she’s not in the least bit mad, she just has a different point of view. I love the Tony Ross illustrations in this book and the fact that it contains the word “bonkers”.

Duck on a Bike by David Shannon. I could write a thesis on this book. It is so insanely clever. Luckily for you I don’t have much time today, so I’ll give you the high points in list form. Animal noises and recognition; not all things on wheels need gasoline to make them go; “try it you might like it”; if you practice you get good at something; what people say is often different from what they mean; se your imagination to anthropomorphosise those farm animals; everyone has a different personality and oh yes…look at the cool and colourful pictures. If I could give this book 11 out of 10 then I would.

Noisy City Night by Sara Anderson. A really good book to shout and whisper through. It also has fantastic cut outs that make it look like a city. And can you find the cat on every page?

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. It’s a classic for a reason and I’ve recently noticed that the fruits that the caterpillar eats are in the same order that you would use when weaning children onto solid food. This could be a coincidence. But it’s a fun little observation nonetheless.

I’ll be singing Jenny Jenkins, Animal Fair and something silly I wrote called “jump up, clap hands do a little boogie” . I’ll be reading the poem “When Daddy Fell into the Pond” by Alfred Noyes. And I might take my guitar, for added specialness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

