Oscar Excitement and Some Random Predictions

I am very excited to be in the same time zone as the Oscars this evening. Even though I haven’t seen a film in the cinema since 2007. It’s the glamour and the famous folk and the frocks and the glimpses of handsome men and beautiful women and this year we’ve even been promised some song and dance numbers. Squee!

I have been invited to an Oscar Party tonight (just round at someone’s house, not one of those in a marquee in Hollywood where you might fall over Courtney Love in the coat check). But I’m quite sickly today and I’m not sure if I’ll make it. So instead of entering my predictions into the ballot at the party. I’ll list them here. Like I said this is a pretty random indicator as I haven’t seen any of these films.

Best Supporting Actress – Marisa Tomei “The Wrestler”

Best Actress – Kate Winslett “The Reader”

Best Supporting Actor – Heath Ledger “The Dark Knight”

Best Actor – Frank Langella “Frost/Nixon”

Best Director – Danny Boyle “Slumdog Millionaire”

Best Original Screenplay – Dustin Lance BlackĀ  “Milk”

Best Original Score – A R Rahman “Slumdog Millionaire”

Best Picture – “The Reader”

And that’s what I think, what do you think?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Oscar Excitement and Some Random Predictions

  1. I’ll be tucked up in bed while all you state-side people get underway tonight. Of the ones you list I’ve only seen the Batman one – which was great – so can’t argue with your predictions!

Leave a Reply

