Great TV You’ll Probably Never See – Jack’s Big Music Show

I watch children’s TV with my toddler, I’m not getting into any justifications or moral arguments. I just do. Yesterday I saw the best children’s TV ever. I thought you should know about it.

The show is called Jack’s Big Music Show. I’ve watched it a number of times and it’s pretty good stuff, the basic premise is that there are two friends, Jack and Mary and Jack’s dog Mel. They hang out in a musical clubhouse and have preschool style adventures in music.

Mel is by far the coolest character, he can do anything, including whipping up a jamboree acorn pie, fixing a space ship, changing Jack into a buggle bunny and playing the drums. He’s one heck of a pet. Jack, Mary and Mel are all puppets, but they occasionally have real people come to see them in their clubhouse or perform on “Mel’s Marvelous Music Machine” – a bit like a TV operated with a xylophone. Here’s a link to the Jack website

http://spiffypictures.com/jack.htm

Anyway, that’s just this show on a normal day. Yesterday’s episode had a double whammy of guest stars that blew me away. Firstly there was Steve Burns. I love Steve from Blue’s Clues. No he isn’t in rehab or dead. He’s just a bit short and bald and old, but I still love him. He was singing a song about being a ground hog, which you can see here:

http://www.noggin.com/shows/jacks.php

But that’s not all. John Stewart was playing a reporter for the “Ground Hog News Network”, completely deadpan, with some lovely ad libs.

John Stewart in a silly hat

John Stewart in a silly hat

And check out the hat! Classy.

So If you ever get the chance to watch Jack’s Big Music Show, I would heartily recommend it.  Now, I wonder where I can get an I (heart) ground t-shirt from?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Great TV You’ll Probably Never See – Jack’s Big Music Show

  1. Oh, I loved that show when we had cable! My girls just loved all the music, and now they listen to it on Noggin.com.

    And I love Steve too! He was great in Blue’s Clues, and his Groundhog song is awesome! My girls will play that over and over to see Steve again!

    Ah, fun times!

  2. nattyknitter

    Sometimes I think it’s just me and the under fives who love Steve. Nice to know I’m not alone.

  3. Ethel Catharine Smith

    No, you are not alone. I am around all sorts of people in the “Over Five” age bracket who love Jack, Mary, and Mel.

    My granddaughter and I got hooked on Jack when she was 4 1/2 months old. She is now 18 months old and we don’t go a day without watching Jack.

    We have all 26 episodes on the DVR. Hopefully we can generate enough fan mail to Get Jack Back and maybe even convince Spiffy to produce another season.

  4. Zap

    Looks like the show may have been canceled… Noggin is no longer airing any episodes.

    • nattyknitter

      Jack’s Big Music Show is still on Noggin in our area. It’s still on the schedule on the website and it’s still available in the “on demand” section. There is also at least one DVD of the show available. I understand that there’s been some hoohah, but I got my fingers burned on Firefly so I’m not going into campaign mode for it. Good luck to you though.

  5. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE JACK! My favorite episode is by far Jack Bunny Run run run after bugle bunny! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE that song! Hey, Jack, Mary. What up, Dog?

  6. Snow Day is a good episode too. I liked the Quiet Two’s song called Polar Bear. How Mel got his Groove Back is very funny. Can you imagine what it would be like if your dog thought he was a cat? That would be funny, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

