What I Made While I Was Thinking About Knitting

I am working on knitting patterns to submit to magazines. These need to be super secret because magazines want the patterns to be brand new and exciting. In social media terms, that makes me look like I fell off the face of the earth, but I’m still here.

Any new pattern requires a lot of thinking time and new magazine submissions need writing time too, there’s some knitting time, but probably not as much as I’d like. In the last month I’ve made three socks, just so I could have some simple knitting for when I’m too tired to think.

But I didn’t stop with socks, I’ve been playing around with other crafts too. Probably because there’s no pressure for me to get them right! I’ve made some surprising things and it’s been fun to follow other people’s patterns or recipes, relaxing in fact. Here’s what I’ve been up to.

Cooking…I am not much of a cook. In fact I find it tedious and annoying, which is funny because I love to eat. In fact I love to eat so much that I’m overweight, or at least I was at the start of 2013, Since then I’ve lost 22lbs on a low carb diet (sorry vegetarians, it’s going to get worse). The low carb diet has made me cook more interesting things in more interesting ways. My favourite recipe is this low carb pizza by Jamie VanEaten on the Your Lighter Side blog. Yes, it really is a pizza base made of chicken and yes it really does look and taste like an ordinary bread based pizza.

pizza base

Scrapbooking… I never thought I would scrapbook. I still wouldn’t consider myself a scrapper (as I believe they are known), but my wedding album needed some love and despite protestations from my friends that it’s bad luck to remake a wedding album, I went ahead and did it anyway. I used two fine papers (this one and this one) from Paper Source, some maps and a sage green photo album. I put it all together in an evening and it’s a vast improvement on the previous attempt.

Sewing… I can’t sew using a sewing machine, my tension is almost always wrong and my seams are always wonky. But in my current crafting frenzy, I picked up some fat quarters from Joanns and searched for a quick and easy bag pattern. I found this great little pattern by Amy Smart on the Diary of a Quilter blog. Here’s how mine turned out:

bagI can honestly say this is the first time I’ve ever sewn anything that turned out right first time. It’s pretty exhilarating. I really want to make another one, to see if it was a fluke.

I’ve almost finished this round of magazine submissions, one is already with the magazine (they’ve had it for almost 2 weeks, I like to think that’s a good sign) and the other will be sent off at the end of this week. So, normal Natty Knits service will be resumed shortly. In the meantime, I would highly recommend trying a new craft or a different recipe. It’s very refreshing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

